The Malaysian Red Crescent Society is an auxiliary to the Government and a partner to several ministries including the Ministry of Women, Family and Community Development. It works closely with a number of non-governmental organisations.

Most of its programmes are managed by a large committed volunteer corps at branch and chapter levels.

In its history the society has supported Malaysians through disasters such as the riots of 1969, the Northern Region floods of 2010, the 2004 Tsunami that hit Aceh and subsequently Penang, and more recently the insurgence in Lahad Datu and the East Coast Floods.

Malaysian Red Crescent Society

National Headquarters, Lot PT54, Lengkok Belfield Off Jalan Wisma Putra, 50460 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Branch Offices: 16 branches in all states and three federal territories; headquarters in Kuala Lumpur

Date Established: Formed: 1948. Recognised by ICRC: 04 July 1963 Admitted into IFRC: 24 August 1963

Funding: Self-funded through income generation efforts through First Aid and CPR training courses and Ambulance standby services. Some funding from Government for specific services.

IFRC Country Delegation? No

Key Persons: National Chairman: YM Tunku Tan Sri Dato’ Shahriman bin Tunku Sulaiman
Secretary General: YBhg Dato’ Sayed A Rahman bin Sayed Mohd

Legal Status: Established under the Act of Parliament: Malaysian Red Cross Society (Incorporation) Act of 1965; Malaysian Red Cross Society (Change of Name); Act of 1975 (Act 540)

Major Partners: IFRC and ICRC

Volunteers: 700 (as of 2015)

Malaysian Red Crescent Strategi 2020
Malaysian Red Crescent Plan of Action 2011 - 2015
Malaysia RC Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) from 2005
Reaching out
Malaysian Red Crescent Society - Practice Makes Perfect - Stories from the Field

Document library - Malaysia

[wpv-view name=”malaysia-view”]